Access Home Banking

About Us
Products & Services
Cars 4 Sale
Contact Us

Hours of Operation
Monday thru Friday
7:45 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.
Lobby Hours
7:45 a.m. - 4:15 p.m.

340 TechnaCenter Drive
Montgomery. AL 36117

Mailing Address:
PO Box 240547
Montgomery, AL 36124

Phone: (334) 215-7328
Toll Free: (800) 381-7328
Fax: (334) 215-7946

About Our Credit Union

A credit union is a member-owned, nonprofit cooperative financial institution, formed to encourage savings and make loans to its members. Chartered in 1969 with seven members, Alabama Rural Electric Credit Union has grown to over 3,800 members and over $25 million in assets.

We invite employees and retirees of the Alabama Rural Electric Association of Cooperatives and of its member electric cooperatives, and the member(s) of those cooperatives, to share the outstanding benefits of Alabama Rural Electric Credit Union.

We offer you the ultimate in financial convenience. No waiting in long lines with us! We’ll handle your finances by phone or mail. Plus, a co-op representative is at your service for your one-on-one needs.

Since we’re nonprofit, we’re here only to serve you. Our board of directors consists of people, just like you, who work for Alabama Rural Electric Cooperatives. Join us today and take advantage of the services we offer.

You're never too old to be a credit union member. Some people think just because they retire from their electric cooperative, they can no longer be members of the credit union. Not so. Once a credit union member, always a credit union member! In fact, the folks at your credit union can help you deposit your Social Security checks directly and safely into your account every month.

Every credit union is bound by a "field of membership", which outlines who's eligible to join. Your credit union is open to employees and members of Alabama's electric cooperatives and their immediate families, which include grandparents, parents, stepparents, spouses, children, stepchildren, grandchildren, brothers, and sisters. In order to join the credit union, an eligible person simply fills out and signs a membership card, and sends in $10.25 to open a basic share account. Copies of two forms of identification (social security card, driver's license, employee ID, military ID, or other) must accompany the membership card.

The Alabama Rural Electric Credit Union wants you to know that the United States credit union system is stronger than ever. Credit unions maintain a credit buffer of nearly 10 percent, which is substantially higher than the 7 percent threshold defined as "well capitalized" by law. More importantly, your accounts at the credit union are federally insured, and as safe and protected as they always have been. The National Credit Union Association continues to insure deposits up to $250,000 per account at every credit union. So no matter what the U.S. economy does, rest assured that your credit union deposits are insured and well protected.


Jimmy Gray

Jeff Hodges

Elaine Barrow

Jerry Weathersby

Heather Anderson 
Board Member

Daryl Jones
Board Member

Fred Braswell 
Board Member


Jane J. Boysen

Cecilia Waits
Vice President

Karrie Wheat
Compliance Officer

Heather Menefee
Senior Loan Officer

Susanna Taylor

Darlene Shedd
Loan Officer/Credit Card Program

Dallas Roebling 
Member Service Representative


Karl Rayborn

David Bailey

Mike Barlow


Suzy Baker

Barbara Whitehead

Arab Electric Cooperative
Deborah Walls

Baldwin County EMC
Sue Campbell

Central Alabama Electric Cooperative
Lori Bullard

Cherokee Electric Cooperative
Sarah Bright

Clarke-Washington EMC
Susan Dunn

Coosa Valley Electric Cooperative
Lana Green

Black Warrior-EMC
Ashley Eaves


Cullman Electric Cooperative
Gail Neal

Dixie Electric Cooperative-Union Springs
Margaret Pickett

Dixie Electric Cooperative-Montgomery
Janice Harris

Franklin Electric Cooperative
Shelia Malone

Marshall-Dekalb Electric Cooperative
Linda Lacks

North Alabama Electric Cooperative
Hilda Johnson

Pea River Electric Cooperative
Gary Tibbetts

Pioneer Electric Cooperative-Greenville
Lauren Smith


Pioneer Electric Cooperative-Selma
Renee Sapp

Sand Mountain Electric Cooperative
Marian Biddle

South Alabama Cooperative
Mark Hill

Southern Pine Electric Cooperative
Felecia Drew

Tallapoosa River Electric Cooperative
Terri Thornton

Tombigbee Electric Cooperative
Bobbie Riley

Wiregrass Electric Cooperative
Tiffany Howell

Covington Electric Cooperative
Debbie Butts




Phone: (334) 215-7328 | Toll Free: (800) 381-7328 | Fax: (334) 215-7946
Your savings federally insured to at least $250,000 and backed by the full faith and credit of the United States Government.
National Credit Union Administration, a U.S. Government Agency
Privacy Policy Copyright 2012. All Rights Reserved.